History of the ÖMO

How everything started...

The incentive for a mathematical competition for Austrian high school students came in 1968 from Moscow. There the 10th International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO) was held in July. Then (and still today) participation at the IMO was only possible upon invitation from the host country, with the host having to invite all participating countries of past Olympiads. And in 1968 Austria got its first invitation to an IMO.

Since a participation without suitable preparation did not seem advisable, the ministry for education only sent LSI. HR. Dr. Alexander as an observer to the 1968 IMO. His comprehensive account clearly showed that the level of mathematical training in Austrian high schools was by far not high enough for the problems posed at IMO competitions. Therefor there had to be additional classes in mathematics.

At the following Olympiad in Romania, Austria was again only represented by an observer, OSTR. Mag. Flick. His evaluation of the mathematical training of Austrian high school students was in accordance with the one given in the previous year. So in fall 1969 the ÖMO was finally put on track. It was because of the vigorous commitment of Ministrialrat Dr. E. Szirucsek that the preparations could begin:

It was a hectic year. Deficits from the studies about "giving proofs" had to be eradicated and the search for suited problems was a central weekend occupation.

Finally, in the summer of 1970, the very first ÖMO and the first Austrian IMO participation (12th IMO in Hungary) took place. The hard work was rewarded and gave courage for the following years.

14 countries competed at the 12th IMO. Most successful was Hungary with 233 point, followed by the GDR and the USSR with 221 points. Austria could achieve a bronze medal and got the 12th place with 104 points just behind Sweden (110) and Poland (105).

Participants
Leader: Thomas Mühlgasser; deputy: Wolfgang Ratzinger
Contestants: Karl Czakler, Johann Hackl (bronze), Franz Hofbauer, Gerald Leitner, Wolfgang Matej, Angelika Rindler, Erich Steinbauer, Herbert Tobisch.

Geschichte der ÖMO

Wie alles begann...

Der Anstoß, auch in Österreich einen Mathematikwettbewerb für AHS-Schüler durchzuführen, kam 1968 aus Moskau. Im Juli 1968 fand dort bereits die 10. Internationale Mathematik-Olympiade (IMO) statt. Eine Teilnahme an einer IMO war und ist nur über eine Einladung des Gastgeberlandes möglich, wobei das Gastgeberland alle Länder, die bereits an einer Olympiade teilgenommen haben, auch einladen muss. Und in jenem Jahr erhielt Österreich die erste Einladung zur Teilnahme.

Da eine Teilnahme ohne entsprechende Vorbereitung nicht sinnvoll erschien, entsandte das BMfUK Herrn LSI HR Dr. Alexander als Beobachter zu dieser IMO. Sein ausführlicher Bericht, der auch die gestellten Aufgaben enthielt, zeigte deutlich, dass das Niveau der mathematischen Ausbildung in der Schule in keiner Weise dem in den Aufgaben geforderten entsprach. Dies konnte nur durch zusätzlichen Unterricht in Mathematik behoben werden.

Auch bei der folgenden Olympiade in Rumänien war Österreich nur durch einen Beobachter, OSTR Prof. Flick, vertreten, der eine ähnliche Einschätzung der Situation des Mathematikunterrichts in Österreich lieferte. Im Herbst 1969 war es dann endlich soweit. Dem energischen Einsatz von Ministerialrat Dr. E. Szirucsek ist es zu danken, dass mit einer Vorbereitung begonnen werden konnte:

Es war ein hektisches Jahr. Defizite aus dem Studium hinsichtlich "Beweisen" waren zu beseitigen und die Suche nach geeigneten Aufgaben war der Zentralpunkt der Wochenendbeschäftigung.

Und im Sommer 1970 war es dann soweit - die erste ÖMO und die erste Teilnahme an einer IMO (12. IMO in Ungarn). Der Einsatz hat sich gelohnt und hat uns Mut für die folgenden Jahre gegeben.

An der 12. IMO nahmen 14 Länder teil. Am erfolgreichsten war Ungarn mit gesamt 233, gefolgt von der DDR und UdSSR mit 221 Punkten. Österrreich konnte eine Bronzemedaille erringen und landete mit 104 Punkten knapp hinter Schweden (110) und Polen (105) an der 12. Stelle.

Teilnehmer:
Delegationsleiter: Thomas Mühlgassner, Stellvertreter: Wolfgang Ratzinger
Schülerdelegation: Czakler Karl, Hackl Johann (Bronze), Hofbauer Franz, Leitner Gerald, Matej Wolfgang, Rindler Angelika, Steinbauer Erich, Tobisch Herbert.


Vielen Dank an HR Mag. Thomas Mühlgassner für diesen Rückblick auf die Geschichte der ÖMO